EAN: 5010963537494

Ford Escort MK2 - Acropolis Rally 1980

Race: 1980 Acropolis Rally

Driver: Ari Vatanen & Dave Richards

Racing for Rothmans Rally Team, after Ford’s withdrawal in 1979, Ari Vatanen took his first win in the Ford Escort RS1800 MkII at the Acropolis Rally in 1980. The following year he became the first driver to become World Rally Champion without being on an official factory team, a feat that remains unbroken to this day.